A special 2 hour workshop delving into the subtle aspects of the

     Chakras and their influence on our bodies.

Wherever dynamic energies meet together in nature they form spinning circular patterns or vortices. The seers of ancient India perceived similar vortices within the energy of the human body. According to the Vedic seers, wherever two or more channels of subtle energy meet, there is a vortex which they named Chakra. The word Chakra is Sanskrit for wheel and signifies one of seven basic energy centers in the body.

These Chakras or energy centers make up a complex set of energy interactions that influence our thoughts, moods, and overall health. Chakras are like the air we breathe, invisible yet vital to our lives.

Through Postures, Meditation, Mantra (chants), Mudras (hand positions), Aromatherapy, Gem therapy, and Nidra we can work at balancing these energy centers.

1st Chakra~ Root Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Muladhara (Root support)

Color: Red

Element: Earth

Bija Mantra: LAM (I Live)

Depicted as: 4 petal lotus

Location: Base of the spine, Perineum

Physical Functions: Adrenals, hips, spine, legs, feet, large intestines, bones, teeth

Psychological Functions: Strong, stable, self-preservation, identity, groundedness, feeling safe in the world.

Mudra: Pran Mudra (thumb, ring, pinky finger together)

Aromatherapy: Cardamom, Cedar Leaf, Valor, Cedarwood, Clove, Frankincense, Peppermint, Sandalwood

Gemstones: Bloodstone, hematite, labodorite, garnet, ruby, onyx, fire agate, smoky quartz.

Overdevelopment: greed, recklessness, anorexia, issues with food

Underdevelopment: low energy, listlessness, clumsiness, fear, obesity, trouble handling money.

Identity: Governs all matters physical

Developmental Stage: Womb to 12 months

2nd Chakra~ Sacral Chakra

Sanskrit Name:  Svadhisthana (sweetness)
Color: Orange
Element: Water
Bija Mantra:  VAM (I Feel)
Depicted as: 6 petal lotus
Location: lower abdomen, between naval and pubic bone
Physical Functions: Sexual glands, hips, sacrum, lower back, bladder, kidneys
Psychological Functions: Movement, connection, sensuality, sexuality, emotions, intimacy, desire
Mudra:  Dhyani Mudra (left hand lies in right hand and the thumbs touch)
Aromatherapy:  Geranium, Rose, Jasmine, Patchouli, Tangerine, Sandalwood, Coriander
Gemstones: Carnelian, Fire Opal, Tangerine Quartz, Orange Kyanite, Cinnabar
Overdevelopment: sexual addiction or promiscuity; romantic, sexual or creative obsessions.
Underdevelopment: Puritanism, frigidity/impotence, creative blocks, sexual repression, infertility.
Identity: Emotional
Developmental Stage: 6 months - 2 years

3rd Chakra~ Solar Plexus

Sanskrit Name:  Manipura   (Lustrous Gem)
Color: Yellow
Element: Fire
Bija Mantra: RAM (I Do)
Depicted as: 10 petal lotus
Location: Solar Plexus/ Above Navel
Physical Functions:  Pancreas, Digestive system, liver, gall bladder, metabolism, lumbar vertebrae
Psychological Functions: Self Esteem, will power, transformation, vitality, energy
Mudra: Vajra Mudra (thumb, middle, ring, pinkie finger together- index finger extended)
Aromatherapy: Cardamom, Cedarwood, Cinnamon, Lemon, Lemongrass, Peppermint, Frankincense
Gemstones: Amber, Topaz, Lemon Quartz, Citrine, Prehnit
Overdevelopment: stress, aggression, willfulness, control issues, inability to relax, arrogance, ulcers.
Underdevelopment: indifference, passivity, complacency, victim mentality, indigestion.
Identity:  Ego
Developmental Stage:  18-42 months

4th Chakra- Heart Chakra

Sanskrit Name:  Anahata  (unstruck)
Color: Green
Element: Air
Bija Mantra: Yam (I love)
Depicted as: 12 petal lotus
Location: Heart Center
Physical Functions: Thymus, Heart, lungs, circulatory system, arms, hands, shoulders
Psychological Functions: Love, relationships, compassion
Mudra: She-ma (fingers interlocked inward toward Heart chakra, index fingers touching and pointed up toward chin, and thumbs touching together & pressed to Heart chakra)
Aromatherapy: Lavender, Rose, Peppermint, Geranium, Bergamot, Eucalyptus
Gemstones: Moonstone, Green Calcite, Emerald, Green Tourmaline
Overdevelopment: Too trusting, smothering, co-dependent, enabling
Underdevelopment: distrusting, cold, aloof, reserved, self-centered, selfish.
Identity:  Social Identity
Developmental Stage:  3.5- 7 years

5th Chakra- Throat Chakra

Sanskrit Name:  Vishuddha  (purified)
Color: Blue
Element: Ether/Space
Bija Mantra: HAM ( I speak)
Depicted as: 16 petal lotus
Location: Throat
Physical Functions: Thyroid, Neck, Mouth, Jaw, Throat, Ears
Psychological Functions: Communication, Speaking, Listening, Writing, Singing
Mudra: Throat Mudra (thumb, middle finger together)
Aromatherapy: Lavender, Geranium, Spearmint, Sandalwood, Chamomile
Gemstones: Sapphire, Aquamarine, Blue Topaz, Turquoise
Overdevelopment: talking too much, not listening well, argumentative, critical
Underdevelopment: trouble expressing yourself, inability to speak up, shyness,

lack confidence in own opinions
Identity:  Creative Identity
Developmental Stage:  7- 12 years

6th Chakra- Third Eye Chakra

Sanskrit Name:  Ajna  (to command, perceive)
Color:  Violet/Indigo
Element:  Light
Bija Mantra: AUM (I see)
Depicted as: 2 petal lotus
Location: between and just above the physical eyes
Physical Functions:  Pituitary gland, eyes, skull, brow
Psychological Functions: Insight, imagination, perception, intuition, dreaming, clairvoyance
Mudra: Jnana Mudra (thumb and index fingertip)
Aromatherapy: Vanilla, Lemon, Orange, Peppermint, Harmony, Rosemary
Gemstones: Diamond, Amethyst, Azurite, Lapis Lazuli,Sodalite
Overdevelopment: Racing thoughts, hung up on logic, too abstract, endlessly planning- not doing
Underdevelopment: illogical, acting without thinking, forgetfulness, inability to remember dreams
Identity:  Intellect
Developmental Stage:  Adolescence

7th Chakra- Crown Chakra

Sanskrit Name:  Sahasrara  (1000 petals)
Color:  White/Clear
Element:  No element- thought
Bija Mantra: AH (I am)
Depicted as:  1000 petal lotus
Location: Crown head
Physical Functions:  Pineal gland, higher brain function, central nervous system, cerebral cortex
Psychological Functions: Awareness, understanding, spiritual development
Mudra: Akasha Mudra (thumb and middle fingertips)
Aromatherapy: Jasmine, Ylang Ylang, Frankincense, Rose, Lavender
Gemstones: Sapphire, Clear Quartz, Clear Calcite, Diamond
Overdevelopment: Out  of touch with reality, ungrounded, schizophrenia, feeling like you don’t belong
Underdevelopment: lack of spiritual awareness, lack of sense higher purpose, cynicism
Identity:  Universal identity/ Spiritual life
Developmental Stage:  Throughout life

Copyright © Yoga4U LLC All rights reserved.